Leaving Slane

Whoops! I published out of order. Ahh well.

I hesitated to write this post. I’m still hesitant as I write these words. But hey, I committed to telling my stories, well… here it is.

I took a job in Slane. It wasn’t the ideal job, but it sounded kind of cool and challenging, so I tried it out for a while and was offered the position as the Hostel Manager.

I packed up, moved to Slane and gave it my all.

I worked really hard to get everything done. I worked long hours, and it was lonely work. I worked alone most of the time, and unlike what I expected, most of the guests that stayed in the hostel treated it more like a hotel.

There are many wedding venues in the area, and it can be quite difficult to find accommodations around the venues because the area is quite tiny. Most of the guests staying at the hostel were wedding guests, so they came in, dropped their bags, and usually only showed up again to check out of their rooms.

It wasn’t the atmosphere I thought it would be. Nothing like any of the hostels I had previously stayed in.

As time went along, I got lonelier and lonelier. The internet signal did not reach my room and the cell phone reception was a bit patchy, so data wasn’t always available either.

Isolation was killing me.

It became apparent that I wasn’t going to be able to keep up with the work load and expectations that were imposed on me, and I knew I had to leave.

I waited for my government documents to come through the mail…

The day I got my documents, the owners and I decided to part ways. It was mutually toxic for me to be working there, and we both knew I had to leave and that it was not the right place for me.

I was gone about two hours later. I took a bus to Swords, just outside of Dublin. My parents generously put me up in a BnB there where I just laid low, and tried to figure out my next move. I swallowed my pride and called Elaine, asking if she was willing to have me back as a tenant for a little while. She generously accepted to take me in – again.

I planned my trip back to Galway, but first I was to attend a job fair in Dublin. The job fair was like most others… you pick up cards and pens and candy, but for the most part, they’re not super helpful. I did, however, get to sit in a one-on-one session with a career coach and it lifted my spirits up again.

So off I went, boarding the bus to Galway.

It was as if a planet had been taken off my shoulders. I could stand up straight and breathe more deeply. I had such a tension release headache on the bus, but it didn’t even matter… I was moving on.

Yelana and Elaine welcomed me at the bus station with big hugs and said: “Welcome Home!”

How did I get so lucky?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

